Sin

My daughter said something profound.   She said she believed that the key for victory in this Christian walk is for people to humbly recongize their sin; that it’s one thing to believe in Jesus but we need to be broken in our sin.  

You might be thinking….. ‘aaah……duh, Sue…… like, every Christian knows THAT.’  But I wonder.  When I look at the Church in America.  When I look at so many so called professing Christians. 

I was recently witnessing to a person who had many questions about Jesus, the Bible, the way of salvation, etc.  I’m not smart enough to answer the tough questions, like proving the validity of the Bible.  How I wanted that person to believe me and to accept the truth that Jesus is the only way to God.   But I was unable to make him see it. 

But then I realized …. I don’t have that kind of power.  Only God does.  Jesus told us clearly that He would send His Holy Spirit… and its the Spirit that convicts of sin.  John 16:8 – “When He (the Spirit) comes, He will convict the world concerning sin and righteousness and judgement; concerning sin, because they do not believe in Me; and concerning righteousness, because I go to the Father and you no longer see Me; and concerning judgement, because the ruler of this world has been judged.”

The first thing Jesus said upon beginning his ministry was ‘repent!’  (Matthew 4:17).  The thing Peter told the 3000 converted on the day of Pentecost that they must do?:   ‘repent’. (Acts 2:38)

My daughter had said that unless we have a sense of our sin……

and it’s like a light bulb came on!  That’s what is such a common denominater in our world today.  Most people – even many Christians – don’t have a real sense of how horrible sin is.  How it is such a problem for the human race.  We are so narcisstic.  We really are.  Our whole culture has accepted the premise that life is all about us.  We just think God should be waiting at our doorstep every time we snap our fingers.  We act like we are God and He is here to serve us! 

Oh I believe God IS waiting at our doorstep.  I believe he is knocking.  But until we come to Him with humble hearts and an understanding of what and who we are, …… well, to me, it would seem like blashemy or something.  I mean God is God, and mighty and powerful and just …. and He can be nothing different.  It would be impossible for Him to change Himself to be a God who bows down to OUR needs and temper tantrums.

Lately I’ve been playing and singing the song ‘Majesty’ on my guitar.  It has really touched me.  I wanted to post a youtube video of the song.  There are several I could use, but this one haunts me.  I must warn you…. it is very hard to watch.  I couldn’t even get through it.  I weep everytime I consider what Jesus did for me. 

But as horrific as the passion is….. the suffering Jesus took on…… this suffering is nothing compared to the SIN of mankind that Jesus took.  Jesus took on the WRATH of God.  The JUST wrath of God.  The just punishment that should have been mine and yours and all of mankinds.  I don’t think we can understand how horrible that was for Jesus.  We ‘see’ the horrible passion of Christ…. and yes, that was bad.  But yet the martyrs of the first three centuries went to their death singing hymns. Many were crucified as Jesus was, as well as burned at the stake, decaptiated, tortured, etc.   Yet we see Jesus cowering in the Garden, in so much anguish, He’s sweating blood!  Was He afraid?  No, Jesus was not concerned about the physical pain.  It was the cup that He dreaded.  What was in the cup? Psalm 75:8, Jeremiah 25:15-16. The cup was full of the wrath of Almighty God.

Jesus took that cup.  Oh how grateful and humbled I am that He took it. 

I cry out that God would open the eyes of our world today, to understand the great price Jesus paid when He took that cup.  I pray that people would see what sin really is, and how horrible it is, and how we ARE sin until Jesus takes it from us.  Holy Spirit, please move in our world today! 

Leave a Reply

