Celery and Blue Cheese

These children are amazing.  Seriously????   Celery and blue cheese for their bedtime snack?  What about cookies and koolaid????   Oh my, they have such good eating habits!  They put me to shame.

  Here’s me and Caleb cuddling.  Caleb loves to cuddle and asks to be held.  Shortly after that, Angel also wanted to be held.  These children are so amazing!  I mean what Grama doesn’t want to cuddle her grandchildren, and then when THEY ASK FIRST!  Wow.

Of course my new puppy “Louie” didn’t think much of this.  He’s used to getting all the attention!

Right before bed, Angel pointed out her beautiful toenail painted feet compared to mine (not so beautiful, …. well let’s face it:  ugly feet)!  We tried to get a picture but she turned her feet at the last minute!

Every time I come to Sioux Falls to babysit for Missy, I am again amazed at my daughter.  How did she learn how to be such a good Mom?  Surely not from me!  Angel and Caleb are amazing.  (That’s the third time I’ve called them amazing, I just realized that.)  I know I’m prejudice, BUT:  Caleb, he’s tough, and funny, and creative.  He is so potty trained!  I mean he doesn’t miss a beat in this area!  It seemed like he trained himself, overnight.  And Angel ……. what a delightful little girl she is!  She is SO ARTICULATE.  SO SMART.  SO LOVING.  She has such an incredible faith.  She sings about Jesus, and talks about Jesus and has such a childlike faith.  Oh, yeah, she IS a child!  Sometimes it’s hard to remember that, because she is so brilliant and articulate.  I sometimes wonder if God has a special calling on her life.  Because that little girl has such a simple yet clear understanding of heavenly things.  The other reason I wonder is because she is often plagued with night terrors.  I might not be too smart, but I am smart enough to know that Satan despises the children of God.  He especially hates and tries to destroys those who are devoted to God.  Just look at Job.  Job loved God and was considered a good righteous man in God’s eyes.  And Satan was out to destroy him!  So I pray for a special hedge of protection around our Angel. 

I knew Missy had a bedtime routine for the children.  I asked Angel what they did when they went to bed and sure enough she walked me through it.  First, =Prayers.  Angel’s prayers are specific.  She prays for specific people and things and she always thanks God at the end.  Wow.  Doesn’t the Bible say that’s what the Father wants?_……”Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. 7 Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.” Philppians 4: 6-7

“……give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

  1 Thessalonians 5:18

 The next thing they do is sing a song (one that I didn’t know).  Then Caleb puts in his request too:  they call it ‘Papa’s Song’.  It’s the ‘hush little baby don’t say a word, Mamma’s gonna buy you a mockingbird’ song.  Except this one is ‘Hush Angel and Caleb, don’t say a word.  Papa’s gonna buy you a mockingbird.’ (:)

So now it’s 10:00 p.m. and I AM EXHAUSTED.  I don’t know how Missy does it.

Leave a Reply

