The things told to me

   This morning I was reading in 1 Corinthians 15:3.  Paul had stated, “I passed on to you right from the first what had been told to me….”  Of course Paul had been told prettty big stuff:  that Christ had died for our sins just as scripture said he would, that he was buried, that 3 days later he arose.  Big stuff.

   I know that Jesus had told me things too, as He does every Christian.  (“I will keep on revealing You (Abba Father) to them…” Jesus (John 17:26) 

   I realized this morning how I long to pass on the things I have been taught since becoming a child of God.

   Lately it seems like the Lord has been trying to bring me to a deeper understanding of His love.  I know that is really huge.  I know the Apostle Paul often talked about the love of Christ and often prayed that we could comprehend it, understand it, grasp it.  In the Old Testament, God told the Israelites to ‘cling to Him’ and to His love. 

   I have shared before how I’ve often meditated on the ‘vision’ (or whatever it was) of when I die, Jesus meets me at the gate and tells me someone is waiting to see me.  It is my Abba Father and I run into His arms!  He welcomes me and holds me and treasures me.  I experience a sense of belonging I have never experienced before. 

   I have also sensed the person of the Holy Spirit in my life.  Morning by morning he awakens me to teach me some nugget of truth in the Word.  I love Him so much and love the way He guides me and comforts me, just as Jesus said He would.

   I know this sounds really wierd, but for some reason I kept my distance from Jesus.  Don’t get me wrong.  He’s my Savior and I love Him with all my heart, mind and soul, but I couldn’t quite comprehend His love for me.  I felt intimidated around Jesus.  I mean, He’s SOOOOO cool.  He’s SOOOOOO awesome.  I’ve read in the gospels how Jesus is Love.  God’ s love.  But ‘love’ is such meaningless word at times.  It’s so overused.  But then Spirit led me to the verse in 1-Corinthians 13:4.  I’ve read this verse many times.  But the Holy Spirit spoke to my heart and told me to substitute ‘Jesus’ for the word ‘love’.  This is what I read ‘heard’ – ‘This is Jesus, Sue, and this is how He loves you.’

“Jesus is patient.  Jesus is kind.  He is never jealous or envious, never boastful or proud, never haughty or selfish or rude.  Jesus does not demand his own way.  He is not irritable or touchy.  He does not hold grudges and will hardly even notice when you do him wrong.  He is never glad about injustice, but rejoices whenever truth wins out.  Jesus is loyal to you no matter what the cost.  Jesus always believes in you, always expects the best of you, and always stands his ground in defending you.” 

    As I wrote this out in obedience to the Holy Spirit’s promptings, tears were falling down my face.  This is the kind of friend I have in Jesus.  This is the kind of love He has for me.

   This is the kind of love He has for you.  All praise and glory and honor to you, Jesus!

Leave a Reply

