A BUSHEL AND A PECK

A few weeks ago the Lord put the song, “A Bushel and A Peck”  in my head.  It’s very strange, I don’t even know how I know this song or why in the world I suddenly thought of it.  It was like the Lord wanted me to sing it to Angel.  So I picked up my guitar and started singing it. 

It’s a catchy little tune.  In fact, the song is so persistent, I find it running through my head all the time.   I bet the same thing will happen to you when you listen to it.  I dare you.

Here’s me singing it to Angel.  You can notice her hugging her little pony.  (Thanks, Missy, for the videos, which I borrowed from your blog!)

And here’s Angel singing it on her own (with Mommy’s help!)

Why is this information important?  Good question.  

The word “bushel” itself dates back to the 1300’s and originally means  a large indefinite quantity.   The noun “peck” means a large number or amount or extent. 

I think God wants us to know how much He loves us.  In fact I don’t just think,  I know.   Because He says it here, in Jeremiah 9:23-24:   “This is what the LORD says: ‘Don’t let the wise boast in their wisdom, or the powerful boast in their power, or the rich boast in their riches.  But those who wish to boast should boast in this alone: that they truly know me and understand that I am the LORD who demonstrates unfailing love and who brings justice and righteousness to the earth, and that I delight in these things. I, the LORD, have spoken!'”

Our God loves us a bushel and a peck!

“And I pray that you…..may grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge.”  Ephesians 3:14-21

Leave a Reply

