HOW TO GET THE DESIRE OF MY HEART

“Delight yourself in the LORD;
         And He will give you the desires of your heart.”  Psalm 37:4

Anyone want the desire of their heart given to them????…..  By the Lord? 

I DO.

So I started contemplating about ‘delighting myself in the Lord’.  Well, that was about the easiest thing I’ve ever had to do.  Not too hard to delight in my God who loves me, who will never leave me, who will never change, will never get tired of me.  To delight in my God who is so ALL-POWERFUL and MIGHTY.  To delight in my God who is kind, and compassionate, and so, so, so, so patient.  To delight in my God whose ‘ways’ are so delightfully surprising at times.  To delight in my God who is SO WISE, and wants to share His wisdom with me as He guides me and teaches me and shows me things and reveals Himself to me, day by day.

So far, this has been really easy, this ‘delighting myself in the Lord’! 

And what about His creativity?  I live in a little town on the Missouri River.  Every day, if I just ‘look’, I see beautiful sunrises, rolling hills and a winding river bordered by magnificent bluffs.  I see the sun, the moon, the stars.  I see beautiful sunsets.  I see birds and deer and pheasant and wild turkeys:  all kinds of God’s animals. 

‘Delighting myself in the Lord’:  I delight in the gifts He gives.  In a devoted husband, in four incredible children and in the daughters and son in laws that I now also call my children.  And how I delight in my precious, DELIGHTFUL grandchildren.  I delight in the way my grandaughter Angel DELIGHTS in life.  I delight in the way my grandson Caleb is beginning to interact with his world.  I delight in seeing my older grandchildren begin their lives as young adults.

‘DELIGHTING MYSELF IN THE LORD’.  Oh yeah, this is easy.  This is fun.  And I’m reminded of God’s promise.  If I delight myself in the Lord, He will give me the desires of my heart. 

You know what?  I think the desire of my heart is to ‘delight myself in the Lord’.  I could do this forever!!!!

7 thoughts on “HOW TO GET THE DESIRE OF MY HEART

  1. Oh my goooodness, that is CUTE!!!! That could win a prize!

    Where would we be without this verse in our society? Honestly, without knowing this Truth, I would be a different person today. Always glad when God presents it to me. Thank YOU!

Leave a Reply

