Something happened to me on Monday.  So the next morning I asked the Lord,  “Holy Spirit, please help me clearly understand what that was all about yesterday.”  This is the verse He gave me:  “Oh give thanks to the Lord, call upon His name; make known His deeds among the peoples.  …….. Sing to the Lord, all the earth; proclaim good tidings of His salvation from day to day…… tell of His wonderful deeds among all the peoples.”  1Chronicles16:8-14,23-24

So, here is my story:

I was troubled.  “My spirit is broken.” Job 17:1; “My spirit grows faint.” Psalm 77:3  Have you ever been there?  Yes, I was troubled.  But I couldn’t get my finger on the source of it.  So I went to my Church.  To spend some time with the Lord.  I started listening to some Christian music.  I put a CD in the CD player, sat back and let the music minister to me.  Soon the tears were coming.  I felt the ministering touch of Our Lord.

It felt like when I hold my 3-month old grandson in my arms.  It looks like this:  My grandson is crying, and I’m rocking him, cradling him, saying, “shhhhhhhhhh……..shhhhhhhhh.”  Suddenly his eyes meet mine.  He “sees’ me and he quiets.  He smiles.

That’s what it felt like in Church.  I was being held, rocked and cradled by my Abba Father.  He was saying, “shhhhhhh………shhhhhhhhh” to my spirit.  Suddenly I “saw” Him.  And I knew it was going to be O.K.  And I smiled.

Then something else happened.  A woman stopped by the Church.  She said the Holy Spirit was prompting her to come.  She wanted to give a tithe, a very generous tithe.  I am the Church treasurer so I accepted it with much thanks to God, smiling inside because I love seeing God at work, ‘providing’ for a financially struggling Church.

Maybe I’m reading too much into her visit, but I don’t think so.  I know there are no ‘coincidences’ with God.  I’m certain God wanted our paths to cross.  First, the only reason I was there is because my troubled spirit led me there.  Otherwise the Church would have been locked.  Second, the reason she came was the Spirit was leading her to go.  By the prompting, working and leading of the Holy Spirit, two women who don’t really know each other that well, met.  We shared our struggles with each other and encouraged each other.

I’m not sure I know what exactly happened:  all I know is God ministered to me; she gave money to God; and God ministered and encouraged her through me.  Whatever happened, it was wonderful!

THUS:  “….make known His deeds among the peoples.  Sing to Him, sing praises to Him.”

5 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

