“AREN’T YOU DONE READING THAT YET???”

That’s what Kayla said to me. 

My husband and I were houseparents at a boarding school.  We had 10 Native American teenage girls in our care.  You can imagine…… 10 teenage girls! 

The Lord has blessed me with a hunger for His word.  And during those years I cried out to Him regularly.  Teenage girls can be brutal.  My mornings usually started at 4:30 a.m. when I would get up to spend a couple of hours in the Word and in prayer and seeking God’s direction for the day.  The girls knew I did this but never asked me about it or commented about it.

Until one night, during supper, out of the blue, Kayla asked me what time I got up that morning.  I told her.  She acted surprised.  I told her I was reading my Bible.  She exclaimed, “Aren’t you done reading that yet??????”

Oh, I pray I would never be done reading it.  Because it is alive.  Because I can read the same verse over and over and it will teach me something different every time.

Hebrews 4:12 
“For the word of God is alive and powerful. It is sharper than the sharpest two-edged sword, cutting between soul and spirit, between joint and marrow. It exposes our innermost thoughts and desires.”

Leave a Reply

