BEING A SPOKESMAN

Boy was a convicted this morning during my time with the Lord.

Jesus said, “I do not speak on my own initiative.  I only speak what I hear the Father tells me to speak.” (John 16:32)

I’m going to be brutally honest with the Lord today:

ME:  “Really, Jesus?  You NEVER talked just to be talking?????  You never said anything that the Father didn’t approve of you saying?”

JESUS:  “No, I never did.”

ME:  What did you do when everyone was gathered around with the latest gossip?  Were you ever around all your friends and family at one of the Passover celebrations or something, and everyone was gathered around talking about the latest ‘village tidbit’?  I think of me at work when there’s a group of people sharing the latest news about someone.  Okay, maybe not news.  Probably gossip. 

JESUS:  “The Bible says, ‘If you speak good words rather than worthless ones,you will be My spokesman.You must influence them;do not let them influence you! ‘”  (Jeremiah 15:19)

ME:  “I feel like I’m not part of the group if I don’t join in.  I feel left out.  I feel all alone.  Did you sometimes feel alone, Jesus?”

JESUS:  “I was never alone.  I was always with the Father.”

ME:  “So are You saying that I don’t have to take part in that ‘water cooler talk’?  That I could step away.  That I wouldn’t be alone.  That You are with me always.”

JESUS:  “Yes, that’s what I’m saying.”

One thought on “BEING A SPOKESMAN

  1. Pingback: Topics about Christian life and Bible readings » Archive » BEING A SPOKESMAN

Leave a Reply

