‘LET’ YOUR LIGHT SHINE

     Yesterday I went and had a few more songs recorded.  Al has been wanting me to get a specific one recorded – It’s called “Glorified”. 

     Al loves that song.  I used to have to play it for him over and over.  Now he can listen to it on the CD.  Al is my biggest fan.  He’ll listen to the songs on my CD at St. Joe’s and the 13 sixth-seventh-and eighth grade girls that he takes care of have to listen along.  The other day one of the girls said, “Al, I know all of Sue’s songs by heart now!”  He told me he was excited about that, because they are hearing the gospel message in the songs.  WOW!

     Anyway, I was REALLY REALLY nervous about this recording session.  You see, the first time I had it done, I really didn’t know what to expect, and I just went in the room and played like I was in my living room at home.  This time, I was more nervous, because I was putting expectations on myself.  As we were getting closer to the studio, I was praying to the Holy Spirit, to get me out of the way, to help me, to calm my nerves.  And guess what?  He gave me some scripture!!!!!

These are the scriptures He gave me: 

“I will give thanks to You, Oh My God, with all my heart, and I will GLORIFY your name forever.” Psalm 86:12

LET your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and GLORIFY your Father who is in heaven.”  Matthew 5:16

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and that your are not your own????  For you have been bought with a price.  Therefore GLORIFY God in your body.”  1-Corinthians 6:19-20

WOW!  What an awesome Word from the Holy Spirit.  And I’m reminded that God gave me these songs.  And I’m supposed to let them be heard.  It doesn’t matter how I sound, how I look, what people think, etc., etc., etc.  The only thing that matters is that I’m a good servant and should move forward.  I think about how this applies to all of us, in everything we do.  Every good idea we get is from God.  So we should move forward with it.  Whatever the results are, well that’s up to God.  We don’t know what’s going on in the spiritual realm.  We might think what we’re doing is a waste of time, or the things we’ve tried in the past have been failures.  Maybe they are in the WORLD’s eyes.  But this place is not our home.  And we don’t have a clue what God is doing with the things he prompts us to do.

My daughter loves to blog.  And she’s a really good blogger.  I love to read her blogs.  Sometimes I get the sense that she thinks she is wasting time.  But from what I’ve seen, she always brings the focus of her blog back to Jesus, back to her testimony.  Through that blog she is proclaiming Jesus and what He has done in her life.  She is sharing the good news.  It’s awesome.  And even if she would never get any acknowledgement from anyone here on this earth, I know she will be standing before Jesus some day, and He will say, “WOW, Missy, I love what you wrote in your blog about me!  Well done, good and faithful servant!”

So lets always remember to ‘let’ our light shine.  Let’s always remember that we are not our own.  We are servants.  Let’s open our ears to what God is prompting us to do, in any and every area, and let’s just do it, regardless of what anyone else’s opinion is.  And remember:  we might not be the most beautiful ‘lamp’…… but it’s not the lamp God wants people to see, but the ‘light’!!!lamp

Leave a Reply

